On the Same Page | Hold Me Closer, Necromancer | Lish McBride

on the same page Hold Me Closer, Necromancer • Lish McBride

Sooo, for the record, we read HOLD ME CLOSER, NECROMANCER by Lish McBride in October. Whoops. But, life. We all really enjoyed the blend of paranormal creatures, macabre subject matter, and dark humor. I’m definitely looking forward to reading NECROMANCING THE STONE (I love these titles and the way Lish McBride incorporated song titles or lyrics into the chapter titles) and anything else Lish McBride writes.

Because I enjoyed HOLD ME CLOSER, NECROMANCER so much, it got me thinking about what other books I–or anyone–could read that have some of the same qualities and themes. So without any more ado, here are some readalikes for HOLD ME CLOSER, NECROMANCER!

book cover for Croak by Gina Damico

It’s been a little while since I read CROAK by Gina Damico, but I thought of it a lot while reading HOLD ME CLOSER, NECROMANCER. It has a very similar vibe: lots of humor, lots of death, a young person with a gift of death. If you liked HOLD ME CLOSER, NECROMANCER, this would be the next place I’d go.

book cover for Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

There are parts of HOLD ME CLOSER, NECROMANCER that are maybe a little scary-ish. ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD has that angle DOWN; it’s definitely scarier than Necromancer. Also, it’s got another young guy who slays demons and ghosts, very similar Sam. In fact, I think Sam and Cas would get along REALLY WELL.

Book cover The Monstrumologist Rick Yancey

I LOVED this book. It doesn’t have the necromancer angle, but it does have a really awesome historical fiction demon hunter. It’s creepy, kind of gruesome, and the characters are wonderfully vivid. I also love the structuring of this book, as if it’s recounting an old story. Big fan, need to read more.

Book cover Shiver Maggie Stiefvater

I’m going to admit right now that SHIVER is not the most amazing of Maggie Stiefvater’s work. However, there are werewolves in HOLD ME CLOSER, NECROMANCER that are kiiiiind of awesome, and these are the only werewolves that I’m really familiar with in my reading. Also, Maggie. So that’s a bonus.

If you guys have read HOLD ME CLOSER, NECROMANCER and know of any other books that would be good readalikes, share in the comments! I’d love to read more!

Don’t forget to check out Brittany and Alyssa‘s posts, too!

Comments

  1. I’ve had Croak on my TBR for awhile but haven’t gotten to it yet. My favorite grim reaper story was the TV show Dead Like Me.

  2. Thanks for the suggestions. I haven’t read Hold Me Closer, Necromancer, but I read Brittany’s review, and this book just sounds fantastic. I really enjoyed Croak, and I’ve been wanting to read Anna Dressed in Blood for years. If it is a good blend of that scary and funny, I think it I’ll like it a lot.

  3. I haven’t read HOLD ME CLOSER, NECROMANCER yet, but I have read and enjoyed SHIVER, and I do have my eye on a couple of these titles, so perhaps I’ll have to consider reading that one as well 🙂

  4. Thanks for the suggestions. I’ve heard so much about Anna Dressed in Blood, but I haven’t had the time to pick it up. I’m thinking about making it a part of my October TBR in 2016.

  5. I really do want to read this one, as well as Croak. I always get so behind on series. haha Glad to hear you enjoyed this one though!

Speak Your Mind

*